About us

The Cork Fleischmann Symphony Orchestra was formed in 2016 in continuation of the legacy of Professor Aloys Fleischmann of University College Cork who was arguably the most significant figure in musical life in Ireland in the 20th century. Throughout his life as composer, musician, musicologist, conductor and teacher he developed a vision for the arts which included the formation of the Cork International Choral Festival and The Cork Orchestral Society. His prolific contribution to the arts in Ireland was honoured by his election as member to Aosdana.

The orchestra's inaugural concert was held in May of 2016 under conductor Keith Pascoe and leader Nuala Ni Chanainn. The orchestra aims to perform much loved orchestral repertoire but also to show case exciting new compositions. To date the orchestra has performed new works by Ian Wilson, Stephen Parker, Sam Perkin, Declan Townsend and Tom Cullivan. In addition to working with international soloists such as Tamsin Little the orchestra has also showcased young emerging talented musicians and has had the privilege of working thus far with Mairead Hickey, Iseult Cooper-Stockdale, Kevin Jansson, Patrick Rafter and Louise Sullivan.